Confessions of a well-organized slob!

by Diana Peck

It’s time for Spring Cleaning!  I need it desperately!

Anyone who knows me well, knows I’m somewhat of a slob.  OK, maybe not somewhat, I AM A SLOB.

Don’t get me wrong, I’m an excellent organizer and very well-organized.  You know when the kids need their birth certificates or immunization records 10 minutes before it’s time to leave for school or they aren’t going to be allowed to participate in that field trip or get registered for the team?  Well, I’m proud to say I’m one of those moms who can whip out those records instantly!

Unfortunately, well-organized is not the same as neat.  My husband threatens over and over again that if we ever build a new home, I will get my own bathroom, because HE can’t stand sharing one with me. (Shouldn’t it be the other way around?)

Maybe it’s because he’s been relegated to a tiny corner of the bathroom counter, due to my unintentional sprawling of make-up, blow dryer, curling iron, oversize pink hair rollers and five 1/4-filled coffee cups that each have a thin layer of “I-don’t-know-what” forming on top.  I let them pile up until I’ve used every last one and then on Saturday morning I collect them all and run them through the dishwasher….

OK, I lied, HE collects them and runs them through the dishwasher.

And TODAY he folded and put away a-week-and-a-half’s worth of laundry that is piled on our bed, then thrown to the floor when it’s time for bed, then piled back on the bed in the morning, etc., etc.  This has been going on for a few days.  I guess he finally got sick of it.  That pile is HUGE.  We have four teenage sons.

But, I’m not writing this to pat him on the back, though I very much appreciate him.  I’m writing this to acknowledge that I am a slob, I’m powerless to my illness, and I need help.  And I’m writing to share with you that although I can be extremely messy, I still find it so fun to be organized!  A thrill for me is spending an entire Saturday afternoon creating spread sheets of our family’s projected budget for the month and accounting for every dollar that we spend, while assigning those dollars to various categories of priority based on utility. (Utility: the capacity of a commodity or a service to satisfy some human want.)

I’m a dork!

But, that thrill for organization helped me to envision how fun it would be to carry my portable files around in a product like our Jamie Raquel File Tote.  It’s also why I’m so looking forward to participating in next month’s NAPO Conference.

I can’t wait to bring Jamie Raquel File Totes to the National Association of Professional Organizers in San Diego next month! Though we will be there working as one of the exhibitors, the blast will be to visit all the other exhibitors and check out the latest and greatest in organizing products.  I even get to attend a couple of classes about organizing.  Don’t get me started on my crazy love for conference speakers.  (I’ll save that for another post.)

So, if you are registered for the NAPO Conference, stop by our booth and see us!  If not, check out our Facebook Page and become a fan.  We promise to post pics of the conference and share with you some of the cool and inspiring organizing products and ideas.

See you soon!

Leave a Reply

